← Bank Watch

Probashi Kallyan Bank

Specialized · unverified (verification date unavailable)

Profile

Total assets
৳22,320,025,889
Deposits
৳1,200,993,158
Gross NPL
7.58%
CRAR
n/a
Net profit
৳359,132,320
Chairman
Neyamat Ullah Bhuiyan
MD/CEO
Chanu Gopal Ghosh
Rating
n/a
Provenance & notes

Operational start date 20 April 2011; headquarters at Probashi Kallyan Bhaban, 71-72 Old Elephant Road (Eskaton Garden), Dhaka-1000. Ownership: Government of Bangladesh holds 5% (2,500,000 shares) and Wage Earners' Welfare Board (WEWB) holds 95% (47,500,000 shares); both are government entities, so effective state control is 100%. Authorized and paid-up capital are identical at BDT 5,000,000,000 (50 million shares at Tk 100 each, all fully subscribed). All financial figures (total assets, deposits, loans, NPL, net profit) are from the audited FY2022-23 annual report (year ended June 30, 2023), directly extracted from the PDF balance sheet and P&L. NPL of BDT 1,349,345,602 is the sum of sub-standard (892,628,540) + doubtful (258,151,508) + bad/loss (198,565,554) from the BRPD distribution table; ratio of 7.58% verified independently. ROA of 1.61% and ROE of 5.77% computed from audited figures (net profit / total assets and net profit / total equity respectively). Branch count of 120 is from the FY2023 annual report notes; 122 branches is the FY2023-24 figure per BIZDATA citing PKB data. Capital adequacy ratio not disclosed in the retrieved annual report; PKB has not published a Basel III CRAR in accessible sources. Chairman Neyamat Ullah Bhuiyan appointed 20 April 2025 (serves concurrently as Senior Secretary, Ministry of Expatriates' Welfare). MD Chanu Gopal Ghosh appointed October 2024 (exact date reported as October 22, 2024 in press coverage) from DMD position at Bangladesh Krishi Bank. FY2023-24 annual report exists (dated 30 September 2024 on PKB portal) but the PDF has a self-signed SSL certificate and could not be fetched; FY2022-23 report is the most recent fully verified period. Deposits of BDT 1.20 billion are unusually low relative to loans (BDT 17.79 billion) because PKB funds most lending through Bangladesh Bank refinancing facilities rather than retail deposits. Employee count not disclosed in retrieved sources; Banglapedia (2020) reported 210 employees, but this predates significant branch expansion to 120+ branches. Activity evidence hold: removed 3 exact generated refresh event(s) on read. Generated scores, positions, activity actions and verification stamps are unavailable. Retained events and unmatched action text require source review; original raw records are unchanged. Financial fields matching legacy class defaults are unverified pending document review; a matching value alone does not establish that the original figure was false.

Sources